Getting going

Hi everybody,

I’ve been getting myself back up to speed with my projects, seeing where I left off. But there are things that keep getting the way. Here’s one of the biggest road blocks,

Dscf2541

I believe it was my next to last posting on the old blog that I said that I needed to O Scale the work bench. The multi drawer cabinet on the right is all HO and the one on the left is all On2. No wonder I can’t get anything done. So I am in the process of cleaning the bench up so I can get some of my projects finished. Here’s one I just finished at the kitchen table,

Dscf2547

This is the three-tier plate girder bridge after shortening it to two. On the Design page I mentioned that I decided to shorten the bridge because of the amount of space it took up. While making that change, I took up the rail I had spiked down. I didn’t like the size of the tie plates. They were code 125/138 size and I felt that they were too big, so I replaced them with Grant line code 125 tie plates. Much better.

One thing that has always bothered me about O scale was no see-thru steel  running  boards. O Scale and no see-thru running boards. So I made one.

Dscf2544

Years ago, Weaver use to offer see-thru plastic running boards and end platforms for the corner ladders. I had some scarps left so I started by making a mold and casting new parts and began assembling them into a 40′ boxcar running board. This one is spaced to fit an Atlas boxcar. I may do one for the Intermountain 1937 boxcar as I have read that some of them were built with the steel running boards.

I also have plans to make new boxcar ends that will be used in kit-bash’s of Atlas boxcars, 4-4 Improved Dreadnaught and the 5-5 Dreadnaught end for the improved 1937 boxcar which will be a scratch build using castings that I’ll make.  Also welded sides beside riveted sides. I’ve got all sorts of ideas and projects just waiting for the time to do them.

Talk with ya later.

6 thoughts on “Getting going

  1. Hi Chester,
    Lets get that workbench completed and get some project underway. That’s the position I’m in. I found a wood machinist tool box set on sale and now am happily setting it up on my new bench. It sure beats those plastic boxes I carried around for years.
    Congratulations on being able to cast those see-thru roof walks. That’s a terrific achievement, but necessary sometimes for great prototype modeling.
    Speaking of weld seam sides, have you tried the new Archer Transfer method?, and, any opinion?
    Take care, Ben

    • Hi Ben,
      Glad to have you aboard. Modeling will now be a whole lot better now that we can communicate.
      If you look to the lower left in the photo, you can see my metal tool box which I purchased back in 1969. They are great for other than just tools.
      Yeah, I’m really happy how the running board turned out. For added strength, I drop a piece of .010 brass wire into the medium before it sets up.
      No I haven’t tried the Archer seams. I do have some rivet sets for the plate girder bridge over the road in Barre. I’ve been looking at those weld lines and I may just give them a try.
      Talk with ya later Ben.

      Chester

Leave a comment